Where has our judgement and integrity gone, if ‘we’ Americans ever collectively had it? There is overwhelming evidence that we Americans have succumbed to the malady of Reality Distortion Zone (RDZ). I’ve heard that many in our country responded to the now ‘Inner-Monologue-In-Chief’ because he talked and thought like they do; so I’m going to try that for myself. I may post the rest of my thoughts on each of these in future entries.
Let me start with a list, in no particular order, of (semi)recent claims that are clearly examples of this (in a bullet list for ease of following along!).

  • What’s good for business is good for America.
    • Unregulated free market capitalism equals democracy and the American way
      • If bankers should’ve gone to jail for the 2007 collapse, why are they still free, not fined, and now hired by the ‘drain the swamp’ administration?
      • If ethical campaign finance reform is so simple why hasn’t it been done already?
      • We didn’t need the A.C.A.; the medical field was fine to begin with. I loved my HMO!
        • If only Congress had tried to repeal Obamacare MORE than 62 times. I’m sure it would’ve gone through that next time and there’s been nothing else for them to do in the last 8 years.
      • Disaster capitalism is awesome! I can’t wait for global warming to really ramp up!
    • Government regulation (aka Big Government) is bad and decreases innovation or competition in business sectors
      • Just ask any lobbyist!
      • And ask our new Treasury Secretary and EPA heads!
      • Gutting anti-corruption watch-dog group that tracks payments made by US energy companies reporting payments to foreign governments and companies, ‘protects consumers’.
      • Gutting the CFPB (Consumer Fraud Protection Bureau) also protects consumers against its anti-competitive practices. Their work with others exposed things like the fake accounts made by Wells Fargo employees. I like Wells Fargo, it makes me think of John Frickin Wayne!
    • Climate change (caused by people-influenced global warming) is bullshit because industry people say so.
      • Rex Tillerson is a great choice for Secretary of State because he headed ExxonMobil, and looked out for American public interests around the world so well there that he was honored by Putin.
      • The Koch Brothers are great Americans, who only want to see liberty rule the land
    • Moving manufacturing overseas was the result of a ‘90s liberal plot of globalization.
    • Campaign financing should be done by the wealthiest people and corporations, so we Citizens can become United in our confidence that our politicians haven’t become paid lackeys of the rich.
  • People who didn’t vote for Trump should ‘get over it’ since the election’s over.
    • Everyone loves a strong leader who is best described as the ‘Inner Monologue In Chief’ and his own best advisor on EVERYTHING.
    • No one said a thing about Obama after he won in 2008, and definitely not after he won again in 2012.
    • Trump didn’t win the popular vote because of millions voting illegally.
    • There are no conflicts of ethics in the now-President’s unseen IRS records. Or in hiring someone from Goldman Sachs to monitor Wall Street. Or someone from ExxonMobil who’s never been elected to political office to run State.
    • Oh! Eliminating civil servants who’ve worked in multiple administrations with both parties, rather than political appointees, is how a swamp is drained. Thanks for showing me how that’s done!
  • Obama was an amateur, but Trump isn’t!
    • Having an overconfident, old white guy insulting his peers, opponents, and everyone that doesn’t agree with him makes me feel like I’ve won! It’s really refreshing and reassuring to hear the constant stream of consciousness during statements and press conferences.
    • It’s great that the President is finally abusing Journalism – those Elites might be the only way citizens have for finding out what our representatives in government and those in commerce do, but I hate them for lying all the time.
    • Threatening to leave or renegotiate our participation in NATO is great leverage. Just ask China and Russia; they love that idea!
  • Unions are no longer necessary and are useless
    • Bring back jobs that pay, so I can get workman’s comp or disability.
    • No company would dare to screw over their workers nowadays!
  • “The American people (don’t) want…”
    • Whoever says this is ignoring the other 50% (OK, this one’s not snarky)
    • We don’t want foreigners. We just want native Americans—I mean those that been here for a long time, I mean just Europeans, I mean…
  • Drugs are bad; unless they come from pharmaceutical companies.
    • Maybe meth or H from my buddy is OK too
  • The rich are just like you, but with lots of money
    • Famous and successful people are all smart
    • Entertainers are stupid, and should shut up and sing. But famous rich folks can talk or be President if I agree with what they say. Oh, and Rush, O’Reilly, Breitbart, Drudge and Buchanan aren’t entertainers. They are serious journalists, so they don’t count.
  • I’m smart and can never be tricked
    • The ‘deplorables’ (Hillary said were “racist, sexist, homophobic, xenophobic, Islamaphobic”) are great and people who are against those things are just plain wrong!
    • Hillary is a criminal, but no republican ever was. Or is.
    • The ‘estate tax’ is really a ‘death tax’
    • There are death panels in ‘Obamacare’.
    • The jobs my President will bring back are the ones Americans have wanted to do, will be high-paying and provide healthcare. I am totally qualified for them too. And they’re coming to my town!
  • My rights provided by the constitution are superior to yours.
    • Religion is free speech and therefore can influence scientific debate under the first amendment. My beliefs (on social, ethical, energy) override any ole scientific and social stuff by anyone else. Mine are justified by a higher power.
    • Equal rights for others, means less rights for me.

I admit it. This may seem like a cheeky or snarky way to point out cognitive dissonance, but I don’t care. My blog; my rules. Sorry if you don’t find much of it funny. I didn’t either.